Germinating seeds on a heat mat

Sue_CT
Reactions:

Germinating seeds on a heat mat

Mon Mar 21, 2022 12:22 pm

I have been using a heat mat to germinate my tomatoes for several years. I use a temperature regulator set at 80 degrees. It keep the soil within a couple of degrees of the setting. Today it was reading 81.6 degrees. Then I place a piece of plastic wrap over the seeds to keep the moisture and heat in. One thing I am always ambivalent about is when to remove them from the heat mat and when to take them out from under the plastic wrap. I plant 3 seeds per cup, assuming I won't get 100% germination. Would you remove them from the mat and from under the plastic as soon as you see the first seed starting to germinate in a cup or wait for 2/3 or all 3? The mat clearly helps because I have some germinating early on day 3 after planting, which I don't believe happened before I started using it. It was probably more like 5 days. Also, would you remove the plastic as soon as one germinated or also wait a bit? I am leaning towards taking them off the heat mat as soon as I see a little curling green stem peaking out just because it isn't technically necessary and it could encourage fungal growth. I have already removed a few small areas of fluffy white growth on the top of the medium. The plastic wrap keeping the moisture in can both help and hurt. Its keeps the ungerminated seeds moist, and I wonder if it also keeps the seed coat softer and might decrease helmet heads, but like the heat mat it also increased the chance of fungal issues. I don't have a cool spot to grow my seedlings in so they are grown at room temps of about 70 degrees so they tend to grow fast enough as it is and if left on the heat mat too long they also shoot up and get leggy very fast. I guess I am leaning towards taking them off the mat, but not sure about the plastic wrap. If the top 1/8 inch of soil dried out the seeds would probably not germinate, although for the first time I am home during