Maglia Rosa Advice

Everything About Tomatoes
foxtailferns
Reactions:

Maglia Rosa Advice

Thu May 05, 2022 9:48 am

I have a couple of extra Maglia Rosa seedlings that I thought I might try in hanging baskets. From what I've read, it seems to be a pretty drape-y variety and I saw a pretty picture (I think maybe here on TJ) of a container sitting on a ladder with the vines hanging over. This is my first year growing it, so I'd love some advice. Do you think it would do well in a hanging basket? If so, what size should I look for? I have my other 2 MRs in 7 gallon nursery pots.

jmsieglaff
Reactions:

Re: Maglia Rosa Advice

Thu May 05, 2022 10:39 am

I've grown it and enjoy it! I do agree with it's wispyness it might be a good one to grow in a hanging basket. To me the biggest issue would be container size. To get a decent number of good tasting fruits, I suspect you would need a rather larger hanging basket--unless you rig up drip irrigation to it. I'm just thinking out loud--not speaking from experience on this specific idea--but pot size, without drip irrigation or someone watering multiple times per day, is probably the most important consideration.

Setec Astronomy
Reactions:

Thu May 05, 2022 10:54 am

A hanging basket is probably a good way to grow a semi-determinate like this. I grow mostly indeterminates which I prune to double-leader, and I get consternated with the semi's like Maglia Rosa and Marzano Fire and Taste Patio (to name drop a few Artisan varieties) as to whether to leave them alone or try to limit the number of leaders.

Labradors
Reactions:

Thu May 05, 2022 11:29 am

I've heard of people growing M.R. in a hanging basket. I grow them in 3 gallon containers and cannot really imagine growing it in anything much smaller, so I'd say go for it, but get the biggest one that you can :).

Linda

foxtailferns
Reactions:

Thu May 05, 2022 1:19 pm