TPS potatoes is it possible

AKgardener
Reactions:

TPS potatoes is it possible

Sun Jan 16, 2022 12:26 pm

I just saw this post and happy to find it did anyone start there potatoes from TPS? I just learned about it and ordered a bunch of different varieties from Russia. Not shure how to start them or when and is it worth it any advice would be great thanks

brownrexx
Reactions:

Re: TPS potatoes is it possible

Sun Jan 16, 2022 1:28 pm

What is TPS?

rxkeith
Reactions:

Sun Jan 16, 2022 2:27 pm

TPS is true potato seeds. growing potatoes from seed instead of tubers.

i have been doing it for a couple years. the seed i got was from a local seed exchange.
so far they have been mostly purple type potatoes, a few white type potatoes, and an obvious
cross of a purple with a white potato.

i plant a few seeds in those six cell plastic sets. once the plants get bigger, i transfer them to a large pot or cup.
sow seeds about the same time you would start tomatoes.
rather than separate them which is a pain because the seedlings are rather fragile, i transplant the clump as a unit
into the garden. they will grow through out the season, and will eventually produce tubers, some of good size. mostly
you will get a lot of smaller tubers. select the best of those for planting next year, and you will get full sized tubers the
following year. thats how i do it. i'm sure there are other ways.

tom wagner was doing some interesting potato hybridizing, creating new varieties. at one time he had seeds for sale.
i don't know if he is still selling them or not. i wouldn't mind trying some of his potato creations if i could.

keith

Rockoe10
Reactions:

Sun Jan 16, 2022 3:42 pm

Just as a word of caution, potatoe plants have toxins in them, and when growing potatoes from true seeds, the crosses that result could potentially have higher levels of toxins. Be careful.
- - - - - - - -
Rob, ZONE 6A with 170 days between frost dates, Western Pennsylvania

wykvlvr
Reactions: