DIY grow sponges/media

JayneR13
Reactions:

DIY grow sponges/media

Mon Apr 04, 2022 10:14 am

Hello everyone,

I'm new to hydroponics so I have a lot to learn! I don't really want to keep buying replacement sponges and based on preliminary research, they don't seem to be that hard to make. Would you all mind sharing how you make yours? What materials do you use, how do you process them, are they reusable? Thanks for any information you can give!

GoDawgs
Reactions:

Re: DIY grow sponges/media

Mon Apr 04, 2022 2:21 pm

Welcome to The Junction! I don't do hydroponics but I'm sure there are some folks here who can help.
Garden and learn. ;)

JayneR13
Reactions:

Sat Apr 09, 2022 9:48 am

Garden and learn indeed! I'm doing some research on hydroponics in general and the Kratky method, and I see people using a large variety of materials. Rock wool seems pretty standard if a bit pricey for seed starting, or start from seedling and use coco coir or perlite to hold the plant upright. I've also read about sphagnum being useful and since I also grow carnivorous plants I do in fact have some I could play with. But again, any tips from more experienced growers would be greatly appreciated.

rossomendblot
Reactions:

Sat Apr 09, 2022 1:03 pm

I've got some basil seedlings growing Kratky style, my first foray in to hydroponics, in 2" net pots filled with clay pebbles to support the plants. I took the idea from this video and threaded some paper towel through the bottom of each net pot, leaving enough sticking out of the bottom to act as a wick, and made a paper germination 'bed' on top of the clay pebbles.

The clay pebbles are reusable which is a bonus. I did think of perlite but read somewhere that it would float without something weighing it down.

pepperhead212
Reactions:

Sat Apr 09, 2022 3:29 pm

Welcome to the forum!