Hello from an Oregon transplant!

Tell us about yourself!
Torquill
Reactions:

Hello from an Oregon transplant!

Fri May 06, 2022 11:49 pm

Hey folks! I've been growing tomatoes for a good 20 years or so, but I just moved from the San Francisco Bay Area to the Coast Range in Oregon, and I'll tell you, nothing makes you feel like a gardening newbie again like a totally different soil and climate. I never know what to expect.

This summer, with luck, I'll be taking over a five-acre homestead that's been in my family for 50 years. It needs a lot of repairs and improvements, and the garden is no exception. But I'm starting small, and leaning on several reference books and guides, and last year's trial garden worked better than I feared. I've also been put in charge of the town's community garden (never raise your hand unless you're ready to lead, lol) and I'm hoping to make that half-abandoned plot into something good.

I used to have a tomato seed library of nearly a thousand varieties, but a new bacterial tomato disease crippled my garden in California, and I discovered too late that it was seedborne. So I'm in the painful position of throwing out all saved seed from 2013 or later, and hoping that some of the older seed will still grow. As the climate here is so different, I would need a new set of varieties anyway, so I'm taking this as an opportunity to try tomatoes I would never have looked at otherwise. I'm hoping this forum might help me do that.

Here's to new adventures!
--Sam

LindaJean
Reactions:

Re: Hello from an Oregon transplant!

Sat May 07, 2022 1:02 am

Hi Sam, Welcome to a great wealth of collective garden wisdom. With your own 20 years of valuable tomato growing experience to add, you will fit right in . I'd like to hear how it goes with progress on your place , the homestead sounds like the chance of a lifetime, even if it does take a lot of work.