Can't get rid of aphids and white flies...help!

Everything About Tomatoes
SoCAl_Don
Reactions:

Can't get rid of aphids and white flies...help!

Thu Jun 02, 2022 3:23 pm

Hey All!
I have been growing tomatoes for 21 years and for the very first time I'm having problems with aphids and white flies on my plants. It started on one plant and has spread to many more of them. I have been trying multiple methods to get rid of them and none of them have worked. They keep returning within a day or 2 of treatments. I had to replace one plant early, because I hadn't recognized the issue yet. All other plants are otherwise very healthy and producing lots of fruit (all still green but producing strongly). Does anyone have an effective method for getting rid of aphids and white flies that actually works? Here's what I've tried so far:
Spray with neem every 3 days tops and bottoms of leaves and stems.
Spray with a mix of neem and Dr Bronners peppermint soap mixture every 2 days.
Spray with Dr Earth, Final Stop, every 3 days.
Spray with a strong stream of water every other day.
None of these methods has rid me of the aphids and white flies. They are gone after I spray, but quickly return. I'm trying to use only organic or natural methods. But I might have to try something stronger...as long as it's not unhealthy.
Thanks in advance for any suggestions that will help.
Best,
Don
Don
Growing Zone 10b

Cole_Robbie
Reactions:

Re: Can't get rid of aphids and white flies...help!

Thu Jun 02, 2022 3:59 pm

You could give up on spraying and buy lacewing and lady bugs as predators.

slugworth
Reactions:

Thu Jun 02, 2022 4:06 pm

I bought a pepper plant that had them on top,I decapitated the plant and ok now.
All the sprays were useless for me too,they just gargle with it.
Try a little fire scarecrow,those long butane lighters to dry roast them.
"A chiseled face,Just like Easter Island" :lol:

Setec Astronomy
Reactions:

Thu Jun 02, 2022 5:13 pm