Fall Garden Seed Starting

Toomanymatoes
Reactions:

Fall Garden Seed Starting

Tue Jun 21, 2022 7:40 am

I am hoping to attempt my first fall garden this year. However, I have not found consistent information on when to start certain varieties indoors for a fall garden. I was hoping you more experienced gardeners may be able to help me out.

I am in Zone 6b. My average first frost date is ~October 11th. Most things will probably be dead by early November here.

I mainly grow tomatoes and peppers. My last tomato harvest varies, but I think mid-September is probably a good time to stop. I can get some tomatoes worth picking and ripening inside in October, but I have more than I need this year so I can stop sooner. Most likely will top the single-stemmed tomatoes after the 3rd flower cluster as well.

So, my plan is to clear out my in-ground garden early to mid-September. Maybe sooner for parts of it depending on what I learn and for direct sowing. This is my first year with this in-ground community plot, which is about 10'X22' and made into a keyhole design.

I probably have way more types of vegetables than I have room for, but I am considering planting:

Broccoli
Brussel Sprouts (just to see if I can get some)
Cauliflower
Kale
Kohlrabi
Lettuce
Spinach
Swiss Chard

I may also consider:
Arugula
Beets
Carrots
Mustard Greens
Pak Choi
Parsnip
Radishes
Tatsoi

Obviously room is limited, so I would only do one or two of the larger plants and few of the smaller ones.

For those varieties to start indoors, one approach I read was to take the first frost date subtract the number of days until maturity and subtract 3 weeks from that. I am not sure if that is reasonable or not. Another approach was similar, but more variable with the number of days to grow indoors prior to transplant - from 3 to 6 weeks depending on variety.

Direct sowing for Arugula, Carrots, Parsnips and Radishes. However I think you can start Radishes indoors too?