Tomato Processing/Canning Advice Needed

ponyexpress
Reactions:

Tomato Processing/Canning Advice Needed

Tue Aug 25, 2020 6:39 am

I've been canning tomatoes for a few years with my pressure canner.

What I do is wash my tomatoes, chop them up into large chunks and feed them into my Kitchen Aid Mixer Food Mill attachment.

Then I cook down the puree to the consistency that I like, put it into QT mason jars with some lemon juice (forget the quantity, I think 2 TSP). Fill to 1/2" from top and then can them according to the manual.

Some questions I have:

1. Do people use any tomatoes, not just paste style? I threw in some beefsteaks like Brandywine, Boxcar Willie since they were on hand and going bad.

2. In some videos, I see people blanch tomatoes for 1-2 minutes before putting them in a food mill. Should I have done this?

3. It seems that I get a lot of waste coming out of my food mill. Not sure if that's typical.

4. For canning whole tomatoes, any techniques to recommend? In the past, I blanch tomatoes, peel the skin, and remove the core/seeds inside so I'm just left with the outer layer. This is easy to do with paste varieties. I packed the tomatoes into the jar and then top with water. It seems that the tomatoes get reduced a lot in cooking such that there's a lot of water in the jar. I think I'll use sauce/puree instead of water.

karstopography
Reactions:

Re: Tomato Processing/Canning Advice Needed

Tue Aug 25, 2020 6:45 am

I don’t know about the canning, but I froze 15 pounds or so of tomatoes whole earlier this year and I regret I didn’t freeze 5 times that amount. They peel so very easily once partially thawed and are wonderful for making sauces, bursting with fresh tomato flavor.
Zone 9b, located in the Columbia bottomlands, annual rainfall 46”

brownrexx
Reactions:

Tue Aug 25, 2020 8:28 am