Northerners. When do you start your winter micros?

Everything About Tomatoes
Labradors
Reactions:

Northerners. When do you start your winter micros?

Wed Aug 19, 2020 6:01 pm

I'm anxious to grow some winter tomatoes this year, and wondering when others usually start theirs. I'm thinking that they would germinate really well now, and get a head start, but then they'd need to survive, either under the grow lights or on a sunny windowsill.

I'd love to know hear your experience.

Linda

wykvlvr
Reactions:

Re: Northerners. When do you start your winter micros?

Wed Aug 19, 2020 7:39 pm

This is my first year to grow micros and most of mine are outside right now. My first ones were planted 27 April and my last ones on 26 May. I planted 9 different varieties and started 2 new varieties about every 2 weeks... The ones outside are loaded with tomatoes but none are ripe yet which is true of almost all my tomatoes...

My five Mirco Tom were planted on 26 May and grown inside under the grow light. One gave me a ripe tomato by the first week of august and a second and third were not far behind. Sadly 2 while full of tomatoes have not produced a ripe one yet. So I would plan on at least 12 weeks before you want new tomatoes. Honestly if you planted today and your plants give you tomatoes in the same time frame as my Micro Tom(who actually were ridiculously early) you would not have fresh tomatoes until around November 11th!

I have to admit I planted some micro seeds a week ago but they weren't really planned for fall/winter tomatoes but rather I was/am really anxious to see how these F2 turn out. But looking at that date I better start thinking about where my for eating micros should go...
Wyoming
Zone 5
Elevation : 6,063 ft
Climate : semi-arid
Avg annual rainfall = 16 inches

farmersteve
Reactions:

Thu Aug 20, 2020 9:02 am