How long can an indeterminate plant really live?

Everything About Tomatoes
EmJayGee
Reactions:

How long can an indeterminate plant really live?

Mon Sep 21, 2020 9:06 pm

I have two Better Boy plants which did well over the summer, they still have several fruit on them. (This is my first year growing tomatoes so I have book knowledge... my family had a large garden when I was a kid but my dad was the maestro of the plants and still is but he's far far away.)

Can I prune them, feed them, bring them inside with a grow light and continue to get fruit over the winter?

I'm sure I could clone them and start over but if I understand what I read, it seems that the basic plant should keep growing. I've been pruning all along and there's some new growth low on each, so I think they should be good to go.

Thanks in advance!
Mike

pepperhead212
Reactions:

Re: How long can an indeterminate plant really live?

Mon Sep 21, 2020 10:17 pm

Welcome to the forum!

ID tomatoes can pretty much live until frost, assuming disease doesn't get to them. As for bringing them indoors, you would need very strong lights for tomatoes, and you have to be careful about bringing in pests, especially if you are growing other things. I don't bring in things like that, but somebody will chime in here that can tell you about growing tomatoes indoors.
Woodbury, NJ zone 7a/7b

Sue_CT
Reactions:

Mon Sep 21, 2020 10:34 pm

Well this one takes 1.5 years just to reach its full size. :)

https://www.wdwinfo.com/news-stories/to ... ld-record/

EmJayGee
Reactions:

Tue Sep 22, 2020 5:11 am

Wow, that is amazing!

I am not particularly concerned about pests, but it’s coming close to frost and they are due for a feeding so I need to make a decision so in they shall come!

Thanks! The quality difference with home grown really has been eye opening so now I just want to keep the ball rolling!

Mike

Rockoe10
Reactions:

Tue Sep 22, 2020 6:12 am