EarthBox tomatoes not ripening properly

PS1452
Reactions:

EarthBox tomatoes not ripening properly

Sat Jul 25, 2020 11:32 am

This is my first year using an EarthBox, I had to try them due to Fusarium in the main garden. I followed instructions exactly, using Sungro Professional Potting mix, synthetic 8-10-8, and started with the snack when blossom end rot appeared. That's mostly under control, but the tomatoes that I'm picking have an excessive amount of hard, white material through the fruit (especially in the top half), as if undeveloped or unripened. The tomato generally looks normally ripe, and the bottom couple of slices taste good. This Africa Queen was one of the earliest and worst examples, but all varieties have it to some extent.

If anyone has any experience with this, what it is and how to fix it I'd sure appreciate the help. Thanks!
African Queen.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

pepperhead212
Reactions:

Re: EarthBox tomatoes not ripening properly

Sat Jul 25, 2020 3:31 pm

Have you ever grown that variety before? I get that with some new varieties, in which every fruit is like that, nand never grow them again! It's usually at the top, sort of like the core is just spread out, while others just have a small core. I have one new one this year - Prime Rib - that I have to cut a generous amount out each time. It's growing the same as others, and none of the rest have the problem. Maybe someone else has an answer to it, but I just assume it's the variety.
Woodbury, NJ zone 7a/7b

Ginger2778
Reactions:

Sat Jul 25, 2020 4:46 pm