Damping Off Questions

Bronx
Reactions:

Damping Off Questions

Sun Feb 16, 2020 9:27 am

Just had the first of my tomato seeds poke their heads out of the mix so I figure this is a good time to ask a couple damping off questions.

I've heard that spraying a diluted hydrogen peroxide solution on the seedlings can prevent damping off. My question is when is a good time to start this, when the seedlings first come up, when they get their first set of true leaves or some other time? Also, how often to spray them?

I had an issue with damping off for the first time last year so I'm not too experienced at preventing it or looking for signs of it before it's too late.

MissS
Reactions:

Re: Damping Off Questions

Sun Feb 16, 2020 10:03 am

First, it is important not to have your seedlings too wet. More importantly, keep the soil surface on the dry side. Water from the bottom only and allow the moisture to wick up. Allow your pots to dry out before you water again.

I have not had much success at using hydrogen peroxide, so I am the wrong person to answer that question.

In my old house I had a horrible problem with mold and damping off. Nothing would help unless I used chemicals and I don't like to do that so much. I found a product by Mosser Lee called No Damp Off Seed Starter. After I began using this, I never had an issue with damping off again. https://www.mosserlee.com/product/530_N ... edium.aspx
~ Patti ~

kath
Reactions:

Sun Feb 16, 2020 11:26 am