Question: Multiple Garlic Stems?

GoDawgs
Reactions:

Question: Multiple Garlic Stems?

Tue Apr 11, 2023 11:02 am

I noticed a couple of days ago that a few of my garlic plants have two or three stems. Huh? I've not seen this before and am wondering what the deal is since only one clove was planted. The plant in the photo has three stems.

Now, this is happening in the Russian Inferno garlic and that's a variety I've been growing for about 4 or 5 years, always using some of the previous year's bulbs as planting stock. I've not seen this problem in the Lorz Italian Garlic (3rd season for Lorz).

Any suggestions or reasons this is happening? I was contemplating replacing the Inferno with something else for next year anyway but I'm just curious about what's going on.

MissS
Reactions:

Re: Question: Multiple Garlic Stems?

Tue Apr 11, 2023 11:46 am

My guess is that it must have grown some offsets over the winter. You could dig one up and take a gentle peek to see what is going on beneath the soil.
~ Patti ~

pepperhead212
Reactions:

Tue Apr 11, 2023 12:39 pm

I have this happen occasionally, more often with some varieties than others, and it seems that there are double (or maybe triple?) cloves inside the skins, that cause it. Music seems to have a lot more double cloves causing this, than others.
Woodbury, NJ zone 7a/7b

Whwoz
Reactions:

Tue Apr 11, 2023 1:22 pm

Agree with pepperhead, multiple cloves within skin, had a number do this the season just past. You will find multiple globes joined together, each smaller than a singly grown globe if left together

Meganp
Reactions:

Fri Apr 14, 2023 2:45 pm

At planting time, check the basal plate of larger cloves and you ought to be able to see if they're doubles and avoid planting them.
20200608_091219.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

bower
Reactions:

Fri Apr 14, 2023 6:17 pm